Valentine Day is coming soon, are you ready?

I got away with not “celebrating” Valentine day during my first marriage. When I realized too late that I forgot to buy her a card on our first Valentine Day, I switched into “the best defense is a good offense mode,” and I simply said..”It’s Saint Valentine Day, and my family never celebrated this religious holiday.”

Saint Valentines Day also known as Valentines day is celebrated in many countries around the world, however not all celebrate on February 14th. For centuries it had always been a religious holiday until the High Middle Ages, (the 14th century/ the 1300’s.)

Valentines-Day-2014-Kids-Wallpaper

It was first associated with romantic love and the end of the 1300’s when Geoffrey Chaucer, instituted the tradition of courtliness. It very gradually evolved until the 1700’s when those with very strong feelings expressed their love for each other presenting flowers, sweets (chocolate offerings) and sending greeting cards. Mass produced cards eventually replaced handwritten notes. Isn’t it amazing that the marketing tentacles of certain Valentine-centric specific companies reached so far back to build their business around one special holiday. Hallmark, the Rose Growers Assn. of America, Russell Stover, Godiva, Sees, and Whitman. Thinking of Valentine  gift giving, one also thinks about the other business that benefit; Macy’s, Tiffany, Target, Lord & Taylor, Costco and many others.

11222703-valentine-gifts-for-men-in-nigeria-valentine-gifts-for-women

The Greeting Card Association of America guesstimates that about 200 million Valentines cards will be sent in the U. S. Mail alone. When you add in those that are made in School or online, the number approaches I Billion, (teachers get the most, those little brown nosers making nice in their veiled attempt to attain good grades).

I hope you are in a loving caring relationship. It really is a wonderful feeling to be in love and to respect and admire someone who you care for and who cares for you deeply.

On a lighter note, when you are having your Valentine dinner with your loved one, here are a few relationship jokes you can tell (if you practice first). Warning: If you are easily offended, and do not appreciate edgy humor, the following jokes may not be for you:

I asked my ex-girlfriend, “Do you think we’ll ever get back together?” She said .”I think the chances are better of me putting Super Unleaded Gas in a rented car.”

Men are stupid and women are crazy. The reason women are crazy is because men are so stupid.

You’ve got friends, but you also have a BEST friend. A friend will help you move, but a BEST friend will help you move a body.

Honesty is the key to a relationship. If you can fake that, you got it made.

I once went on a date with a guy who took me horseback riding. It was a lot of fun until he ran out of quarters.

Drinking and dating is tough; waking up next to someone and not knowing their name, how you met, or why they’re dead.

Good news. My wife just told me I’m going to be a father for the first time. The problem is we already have a couple of kids.

A hot girl called me and said, “Come over, nobody’s home.”  I went over. Nobody was home.

I have bad luck dating women. I was once on a phone with a potential date, and she said “I have to go now, there’s a telemarketer on the other line.”

I’ve been on so many blind dates I should get a FREE dog.

It costs a lot of money to date. I took a girl out to dinner last night and she said, “I guess I’ll have the steak and lobster, I said “Guess again.”

Happy Valentines Day.

I love to write and love to write for you.

HDCoverframed

Thanks,

Marty

You can also follow me @

www.twitter.com/martysavarick    and www.facebook.com/martin.savarick

Leave a Reply

